top of page
Writer's pictureIvy Spencer-Wright

Embracing the Post-Full Moon Glow & Navigating Day 2 of 31

I didn’t think that I would write about my daily routine every single day but then again, isn’t that what I sign up for that when I made that blog post on Monday? Was it? Did I? This is my ADHD mind in a nutshell.

Aladdin, the genie, the magic lamp and the cosmic plan meme.
Thank you /u_1963 on Reddit.

I’m also the kind of kid that has learned to be tenacious. I believe I can do it. No regrets.

I can at least say my daily routine won’t be the main focus of every blog post for the next 30 days.


The Post Full Moon and Post Hormonal Shift

Okay, here's a wild thought: do you ever sense a change in energy after a full moon? How about those hormonal shifts throughout your cycle? If you're nodding along, we're on the same cosmic wavelength, my friend!

Image of moon phases from first crescent moon to full moon phase. From https://prancer.physics.louisville.edu/astrowiki/index.php/The_Moon
Image of moon phases from first crescent moon to full moon phase.

It’s not WOO WOO, it’s I think the wisdom of the seasoned woman. The kids have left the nest for the most part, the stressful folks have found their exits, and finally, it’s “me time.” You can pay attention to yourself. And if, like me, you are doing it for the first time in your life - it feels strange and wonderful. It can be lonely and it’s sometimes overwhelming. But it’s all part of the navigation of who I am as human.


Despite the times I feel like I was meant to walk the earth alone, people have joined me on my journey and have stuck with me regardless of the challenges that either of us have. I’m grateful but not expectant of their time with me.


Maybe it is self-preservation from repeating old childhood wounds or maybe it’s just the post argument dopamine hit that I’m experiencing with a loved one but it’s how I feel right now. "Explanation unavailable", my brain says. I know I’ll figure it out eventually.


Getting On with It

Despite the days challenges, carrying on with my 31-days to suck less has been good. I’ve had something more to focus on, something more to be proud of myself for continuing despite challenges and it’s also enabled me to avoid cognitive fusion.


The journaling happened later today than yesterday but that’s OK no pressure. More than 3 pages. I’m frankly quite surprised at this. Maybe I was mad at being told what to do by Julia Cameron and her cronies?

Sourced from AustinKleon.com Get yours there!
Day 2 of 31 - Marking off the days I suck less.

I opted to walk today instead of yoga but I’m still considering yoga even at this waning hour of the day.


And I’m writing to you, dear reader. It’s a joy of joys that I feel in my heart that I’m living a dream that I’d only thought possible before. It’s something that is coming to fruition. Nice!


I’m also implementing more. Today it’s clay play. Maybe tomorrow I’ll consider a joining Women’s Adventure Group and committing to attend an event! (Whoa, whoa, whoa!) Whose to know? The possibilities feel endless in this moment.

A screenshot of a Facebook Women’s Adventure Group
Women’s Adventure Group on Facebook!

Have you thought about an action plan for yourself? Do you have any thoughts for a 31-days to suck less or engage more? If so, tell me about it. I’d love to know and be inspired. If I’ve inspired, you I’d also love to hear how.


Stay strong shield maidens!


Love,


My signature.
Love, Ivy

Comments


bottom of page