top of page
Writer's pictureIvy Spencer-Wright

Day 1 - Of My 31 Days to Suck Less

I woke up this morning before the crack of dawn. A rainy overcast day but feeling well rested and motived. It’s always the same feeling I get before I start anything new and so, it’s not a bad thing at all.


I did ponder for a few moments if I had made a bad decision the goals I’d picked for myself. I spent quite a few hours at the keyboard yesterday, researching, writing, proofreading, editing and posting I don’t think eyes can take it being like that every day but nonetheless I persist.


Sourced from AustinKleon.com Get yours there!
Day 1 of 31 - Marking off the days I suck less.

Making my way to Goal #1

I kicked off at 6am journaling. It turns out I had a lot to say. I thought I might draw some pictures, or I might write larger than I usually do to fill the void of the deafening page below my fingers. I didn’t. The words flowed out of my fingertips, and it felt good. Maybe Julia Cameron is on to something here.


I will admit that I stopped for 10 minutes to get my husband and our “grand pup” a towel. They’d been caught out in an early morning drizzle.

Back to my desk I thought of other goals I might also be able to implement into my daily routine. Things like:

  • Nature - I spend way too much time indoors. So much so I need to take a mega Vitamin D supplement. That’s almost unheard of in “The Sunshine State”.

  • Reading - I seem to only get into reading in October. But since being medicated, I’m happy to report that I have been reading more frequently and I enjoy it a LOT.

  • Weaving - I haven’t done any type of weaving since I went to summer camp more than 40 years ago. I loved it then and have always wanted to get back to it. Maybe it’s a sign that I should investigate.

  • Screentime - Spending much less time in front of the screen. (Note to self: this means NOT moving from computer screen to phone screen, to iPad screen to Television screen, you know.)

I also show gratitude for the goals that I’d turned into a daily routine.

  1. Create daily for at least 15 minutes.

  2. Self-care - the basics

  3. A daily rest.

It felt like a great place to start.


I stalled into a reading phase. It seemed to come naturally. I let myself go with the flow but felt a bit of fear. Would I ignore my other set goals? The rain had triggered a headache. I took myself off to bed with a heat pack and laid there and read for 15 to 20 minutes. It was nice though The Happiness Trap had me in tears. While reading through and thinking about the questions the book was asking me to consider, I’d had some realisation about what had triggered me into “the comfort/misery zone” all those years ago.

Coming into the Knowing

Feeling better I move myself toward my yoga mat. I had not set myself up for success yesterday, so it was a concentrated effort of what needed to take place in that moment. It felt a bit make or break time.

Yoga mat in hand, “grand pup” at bay, and yoga lesson for the day found on YouTube (Thank you, Yoga with Kassandra) and I set out for a 10 minute stretch while motivate by the voice of Kassandra, the will to suck less and the crazy discovery at how much my body needed this movement.

It’s been 10 months since I was launched into medical menopause, and I am surprised at the amount of stiffness my body has come to know. Before surgery I was limber. I could touch my toes, cross both legs, put on socks and pants without issue in raising my legs. That all changed when surgery happened. Now it’s something I will willingly fight for. Movement.

We had to go out to the shops for food, or rather, I wanted to go out but didn’t want to drive my husband’s massive Ute (my car is on order and hopefully it will be here in the next 5-6 weeks). I hadn’t been out of the house for days and so I knew it was a good decision to leave. I also worried that I wouldn’t show up for my last goal of the day.


Being medicated for ADHD has helped me make better decisions and not let myself wonder off on random tangents like, “Ohh, I’ll just stop for a coffee and three hours later I’ve meandered, looked at and caressed every plant in the garden centre and brought plants home that will never survive in my yard.

I went and did what I set out to do, see other humans, pick out healthful food and bring them home.

Transitioning Toward Writing

My thoughts had been at the keyboard since my 5:22am start. I wondered what I’d write, what I’d share and hoped that it would fall on the eyes of a few. But I realised I was writing more and more for me.

The transition came easy. I’m not obsessing over words, meanings, and links. I don’t even think I will spend 5 hours at the keyboard trying to get it “right” like I did yesterday (though maybe I should.)

sweater wearing human typing on laptop keyboard dark background
Transition to the keyboard was easy.

In this moment, all my goals getting ticked off feels great. I’m feeling inspired, motivated, grateful. But it’s early days I know. But let’s just see what it looks like to attempt to suck less.

Join me

Join me on this journey of self-discovery and personal growth. Let's embrace new goals, break free from old habits, and create 31-Days of life with purpose and fulfilment. Let's prioritise our well-being, explore our passions, and make positive changes that will bring us closer to the best version of ourselves.


Together, we can support each other, share our experiences, and celebrate every small victory along the way. There are no perfect moments; start now and let's see what it looks like to attempt to suck less. Are you ready to join me? Let's embark on this transformative journey together! Already there? Awesome! I’d love to hear how you’ve engaged in this shift. Leave me a little note below.


I’d love to hear from you. :)


Love,


My Signature
Love, Ivy

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page