top of page
Writer's pictureIvy Spencer-Wright

This Is No Piece of Cake

Updated: Feb 10, 2023


In August 2022, I had several what I call "epiphanal" moments. It's not a real word, but it's the same as a moment of epiphany, so it should be in my books.


However, I digress. I started reading information about ADHD in August. In the 90s, I had one child diagnosed with AuADHD. You'd think I would have read everything on offer, and I did back then, as time permitted and what was available that related to my child.

I never began to imagine that it was something that I might also have.


But the more I have learned since August, the more I've slowed down to contemplate the possibilities of these characteristics for myself the more the "epiphanal moments" have come around. They have been insanely thick and fast!


WTF? Doesn't EVERYONE do these things? I have thought to myself MANY times!

What are some of these things?

  • Listening to a conversation and not being able to process what is being said.

  • Often seen as daydreamers.

  • Often seen as "too sensitive."

  • Struggles with time management or organisation

  • Hyper-focused on new hobbies, facts or people for hours or days

  • Report cards often said, "if she only applied herself."

  • Time blindness. (Everything feels like it only happened yesterday, yet it could have been 20 years ago. The feelings of events are painfully raw or blissfully joyful as they happened only moments ago.)

Many of these, you might say, "Well, everyone does that, or I do that." Of course, many people do that! However, according to the DSM-5, if you have 6 or more of these characteristics before you are 12 years old, you need to see your GP for a referral. A psychiatrist can test for ADHD (if you're seeking medication. A psychologist for Cognitive Behaviour Therapy if you're not.)


I've had many (many more than listed here) of these traits from memory as early as the age of 6.



What I'm doing about it.


I sought help in August but knew I had major surgery in September. Is started emailing the ADHD Foundation for advice.


They were fantastic and informative. They sent me the email addresses of doctors who could assist me. They gave me articles about ADHD and women my age. (I'll list them below.)

Following my recovery from surgery in September, I started to feel well enough to pursue a diagnosis again.


I emailed the names of the doctors given to me by the ADHD Foundation.


Unfortunately, one of the doctors breached the confidentiality of another patient with me. I felt terrified and that I was not safe in that space. Instead of acknowledging my concern, they brushed me off, ignored my concerns and then got cranky with me for trying to hold them, a professional firm, accountable.


The other doctor requires my report cards from childhood to grant a diagnosis if they see it is necessary. I have no report cards left from childhood. Those things the institutes "keep forever" well, they don't.


My parents are deceased, and I've kept in contact with very few people from my past. I don't think approaching any of these people now for a letter about my mental health as a young person would be an excellent call for me.


I'm tired, cranky, frustrated and feeling overwhelmed. Still, I persist in finding out about myself in a bid to help improve my life.


The story continues....




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page